Board of the ESTSS

Board of Directors
Ex-officio Members
Executive Staff

Board of Directors 2016-2017

Ingo Schäfer (President 2016-2017)

German speaking countries: Deutschsprachige Gesellschaft für Psychotraumatologie (DeGPT)

Dr. Schäfer is head ingoof the trauma service at the Department of Psychiatry and Psychotherapy, University of Hamburg, Germany. He is also head of the clinical section for addictive disorders and managing director of the Center for Interdisciplinary Addiction Research, University of Hamburg. In the last 20 years, he has been involved in research on the consequences of psychological trauma in a variety of populations including children, adults from the general population, and psychiatric patients. He is past president of the Germanspeaking Society for Psychotraumatology (DeGPT; 2014-2016) and coordinator of the national German guideline for the treatment of PTSD.


Mariel Meewisse (Treasurer)

Netherlands & Belgium: NtVP, the Dutch speaking traumatic stress society

Mariel Meewisse

Dr. Meewisse is leading the Department for Psychological Trauma at the institute for mental health GGZ Noord-Holland Noord. Her work as a clinical psychologist with patients with childhood and workrelated psychopathology is characterized by her specialization in a diversity of evidence-based traumafocused therapies. Since 2005 dr. Meewisse trains and supervises clinicians in the treatment of post-traumatic stress disorder nationally and internationally. She is member of a committee advising the National Police on work-related PTSD, and the president of the Dutch Society of Psychotrauma (NtVP) since 2014.


Dr. Jana Javakhashvili (Secretary of the board)

Georgia: GSP, the Georgian Traumatic Stress Society


I am one of the initiators and facilitators (lecturing professor) of a Mental Health/Psychotraumatology Masters’ Program at Ilia State University (the largest university in Georgia), which is functional since October 2012. Becoming a board member of ESTSS will help me to keep our masters’ program curricula corresponding to the European standards and newest evidence and to bridge Ilia State University with the relevant European institutions and academic events (like ECOTS).

Curriculum Vitae: Jana Javakhishvili

Prof. Roman Cieslak

Poland: PTBST, the Polish Traumatic Stress Society

I believe that as the European society, gathering members from countries with such a complex history and vibrant cultural background, we can and we should contribute to better well-being of those who suffer from direct and indirect trauma exposure. The ESTSS is a good platform for those who want to make a difference.


Curriculum Vitae: Roman Cieslak

Neil Greenberg

United Kingdom: UKPTS,  the UK Psychological Trauma Society


King's College London, United Kingdom


Ansgar Rougemont

Switzerland: La Société Suisse de Psychotraumatologie, The Swiss Society of PsychoTraumatology (SSPT)


University Hospital of Lausanne, Switzerland



Evaldas Kazlauskas, PhD

Lithuania: Lithuanian Society of Traumatic Stress Studies (LSTSS)

Clinical Psychologist and Associate Professor, Vilnius University

Vittoria Ardino

Italy: The Italian Society for the Study of Traumatic Stress (SISST)




Margarida Figueiredo-Braga

Portugal: Centro de Trauma – Portugal

Dean Ajduković

Croatia: Croatian Society for Traumatic Stress



Natalia Nalyvaiko


Filip Amberg


Sweden: SPTF, Swedish Society for Psychotrauma (Svenska PsykoTraumaFöreningen)



Naomi Vandamme

Belgium: BIP, Belgian Institute for Psychotraumatology

Wissam El-Hage

Representative of individual members


Ex-officio Members

Prof. Dr. Vedat Sar (Immediate Past President)

Prof.Dr.Vedat Sar

Prof.Dr.Vedat Sar

Department of Psychiatry, Istanbul University

Prof. Dr. Miranda Olff

Head of Center for Psychological Trauma, Department of Psychiatry AMC, University of Amsterdam
Editor-in Chief European Journal of Psychotraumatology, vice-president ISTSS

Gavin Rees M.A.

Executive directorJournalist and Coordinator Dart Centre Europe

Prof. Dr. Barbara Juen

TENTS-TP Liaising Person, Department of Psychology, University of Innsbruck and Head of Psychosocial Support, Austrian Red Cross


Executive staff

Zoran Sukovic

Executive Secretary